Is it possible to search for someone on TikTok without them knowing or seeing? It surely is – you can certainly view someone’s TikTok anonymously.
This implies that you can find the profile of any TikTok user and they will not have a clue you did that.
It also means that you can search for someone on TikTok by any method – whether by phone number, username or email – and find them, take a look at their profile and the profile owner won’t be notified by TikTok.
Can You View Someone’s TikTok Profile Without them Knowing?
Yes, you can view someone’s TikTok profile without them knowing you have done that. TikTok has settings in place that allow this to be possible.
In this post, you will discover simple and actionable steps to view someone’s TikTok without them seeing it.
How to View Someone’s TikTok without them Knowing
Here are some proven actions to take to stay anonymous when viewing other people’s TikTok profiles.
1. Ensure Profile View History is not Turned On
TikTok has a “Profile View History” feature that enables you or others to see when a profile is viewed depending on whether it is turned on or off.
Let’s start with what happens to your TikTok profile when your profile view history is on. When your profile view history is on, you will be able to see the list of TikTok accounts that have viewed your profile.
If someone has this feature turned on and viewed your profile in the last 30 days, you will see them in your own profile view history. Obviously, you can only see when your profile view history is turned on in the first place.
Regarding their profile, which is the reason you are reading this article, turning on the profile view history feature will alert them that you viewed their profile.
However, turning off “profile view history” will ensure those whom you view their TikTok profiles are not notified that you did. It implies that to search, view or find someone’s TikTok profile without them knowing, you should not turn on your “Profile View History.” (Keep in mind that they can also view your TikTok profile anonymously, just as you did).
Hence, it’s a win-win and a lose-lose:
- they can see you viewed their profile when your profile view history is on.
- you can see they viewed your profile when your profile view history is on.
- When your profile view history is off, they cannot see if you viewed their profile.
- When your profile view history is off, you cannot see if they viewed your profile.
In the same way, they can also control the profile view history of their TikTok accounts, which will ultimately have an impact on your profile views and theirs.
To ensure you’ve not turned on your profile view history so that you can view others’ TikTok profiles without them seeing:
- Tap on the profile icon at the bottom right corner of the screen after launching the TikTok app.
- Tap on the icon on the left of the three horizontal lines at the top right corner.
- If your profile view history is already turned off, you will see red the “Turn On” button active.
If you see something different from the one in the above screenshot, chances are your profile view history is on, and needs to be turned off.
How to Turn off your TikTok Profile View History
- Tap on the profile icon at the lower right corner of the screen after launching the TikTok app.
- On your profile page, tap the hamburger icon in the upper right corner.
- Tap on “Settings and privacy.”
- Select “Privacy” then proceed to tap “Profile Views.”
- Tap on the toggle to turn it off. (This is usually on by default. Hence only tap on the toggle if you already turned it on).
After turning off the “Profile View History,” you can now search for, view or find someone’s profile on TikTok without them knowing or seeing it. Congratulations, you’ve now become anonymous. How cool is that! 😊
2. View their Profile While you are Logged Out
You can view someone’s TikTok profile without them knowing you did when you are not logged in.
Obviously, it is only by logging in that TikTok can pick your account and inform the other person about your viewing their profile.
If you are not logged in, then all activities you perform on the TikTok app or website cannot be attributed to you, your account, that is.
To use this method to anonymously view TikTok profiles,
- Log out of your TikTok account.
- Tap on the search icon and enter the name or username of the TikTok account owner.
- Select their profile from the search results and they won’t see you viewed their profile.
Alternatively, you can open the web version of TikTok in any browser and follow the same steps aas outlined above.